Main content start

David Donoho elected to American Philosophical Society

The 2019 class of 28 resident and 8 international members was announced at the Society's spring meeting. The oldest learned society in the United States, founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of "promoting useful knowledge," the APS recognizes leading scholars, scientists, and professionals through elected membership and opportunities for interdisciplinary fellowship. While many founders of our American republic were Society members  George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, Thomas Paine  equally many Stanford University and Statistics Department leaders have been acknowledged among their ranks: Presidents Richard Lyman, Donald Kennedy, Gerhard Casper, John Hennessy and Marc Tessier-Lavigne are joined by Samuel Karlin, Patrick Suppes, Kenneth Arrow, Persi Diaconis, and now our acclaimed colleague Dave Donoho. Congratulations!