Skip to content Skip to navigation

Faculty Awards Reception 2013

Nov 8 2013

The department will recognize all faculty who have been honored with various awards and prizes during the 2012-2013 period, as well as formally welcome new faculty members Sourav Chatterjee  and Lester Mackey, along with new Stein Fellow Yuval Benjamini. See the Photo Gallery for pictures to be posted! 

The faculty honorees are:

  • Emmanuel Candès for the Dannie Heineman Prize from Göttingen Academy, and the Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization
  • Sourav Chatterjee for the Line and Michel Loève International Prize in Probability
  • Amir Dembo for his appointment as the Marjorie Mhoon Fair Professor in Quantitative Science
  • Persi Diaconis for an honorary doctorate from the University of St. Andrews and the Levi L. Conant Prize
  • David Donoho for the Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences and a Doctor Honoris Causa from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Trevor Hastie for his appointment as the John A. Overdeck Professor of Mathematical Sciences
  • Susan Holmes for her appointment as the John Henry Samter University Fellow in Undergraduate Education and a NIH Translational Research Award
  • Iain Johnstone for the Distinguished Alumni Award from Cornell University's Department of Statistical Science
  • Lester Mackey for the DREAM Phil Bowen Prize4Life ALS Prediction Prize
  • Bala Rajaratnam for the School of Earth Sciences Excellence in Teaching Award
  • David Siegmund for the Pao-Lu Hsu Distinguished Lecture in Probability, Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua University
  • Rob Tibshirani for his election to the National Academy of Sciences and the Gold Medal of the Statistical Society of Canada