Skip to content Skip to navigation


About Our Department

Education in the Statistics discipline acquaints students with the role played by probabilistic and statistical ideas and methods in the many fields of science, medicine, technology, and even the humanities.

We provide instruction in the theory and application of techniques that have been found to be commonly useful, and offer advanced training through interdisciplinary and graduate programs. 

Read More About Us

News & Announcements

2019 Statistics Department Diploma Ceremony

Statistics graduates and their family and friends are cordially invited to the department's Diploma Ceremony following the University's graduation exercises. Our ceremony is a joint affair with the...

Robert Tibshirani named Royal Society Fellow

Rob Tibshirani is now among the distinguished scientists elected to the Royal Society for their exceptional contributions to the improvement of natural knowledge. In fulfillment of its fundamental...

Mackey, Hwang, Orenstein take prizes in Sub-Seasonal Climate Forecast Rodeo

Lester Mackey, Jessica Hwang, and Paulo Orenstein, in joint work with AER climatologist Judah Cohen and MIT professor Ernest Fraenkel, have completed a year-long real-time forecasting competition...

Q&A with Stanford statistician Susan Holmes

At the recent American Association for the Advancement of Science conference in Washington, D.C., Holmes spoke with Stanford Report about the challenges she and her colleagues face when analyzing...

Admissions Info

photo of jigsaw puzzle pieces
Statistics PhD and MS Application Deadlines

Graduate Admissions  Application is CLOSED: Autumn 2019-2020 start

PhD: December 4, 2018

Decisions: Posted

MS: January 15, 2019

Decisions:  Posted

Data Science: MS: January 15, 2019

Decisions: Posted

Recent Tech Reports

graphic of a digital water drop producing concentric ripples
J.P. Romano, C. DiCiccio
S. Bates, E. Candès, L. Janson, W. Wang
Y. Romano, M. Sesia, E.J. Candès

Upcoming Seminars

Industrial Affiliates

photo looking down on a spiral staircase

Our IA Program develops practical relationships between the department and the industrial community by creating opportunities for scientists, engineers, and researchers in local companies to meet with our graduate students in an informal setting. The program offers a variety of benefits, including the annual workshop and faculty visits to member organizations.

IA Members:

  • Baidu Research
  • BlackRock
  • Google
  • LinkedIn
  • Stitch Fix
  • Systematica Investments
  • Two Sigma Investments LLC