Skip to content Skip to navigation

Statistics Department Seminar

The Statistics Seminars for Summer Quarter will be held in Room 380C of the Sloan Mathematics Center in the Main Quad at 4:30pm on Tuesdays. Refreshments are served at 4pm in the Lounge on the first floor of Sequoia Hall.

You can receive a weekly announcement of seminar offerings by subscribing to our mailing list at any time! Please follow the link for Statistics Seminars and fill in the fields required to subscribe, unsubscribe, change subscription options, and so on.

We provide a LaTeX template for speakers to use when submitting the abstract for a seminar (sample PDF output). Using this template makes it possible to post the abstract promptly and without unintended errors that might creep in if your text has to be migrated from another source.

Questions about Seminars may be sent to seminars@stat.stanford.edu.

August 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 21 Aug
04:30PM
Special Event
Eugenio Regazzini University of Pavia, Italy Empirical estimation of initial distributions
Tue 14 Aug
04:30PM
Will Fithian UC Berkeley AdaPT: An interactive procedure for multiple testing with side information
Tue 07 Aug
04:30PM
Miaoyan Wang University of Wisconsin Madison Learning from binary multiway data: Probabilistic tensor decomposition and its statistical optimality
July 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 31 Jul
04:30PM
Joint Statistical Meetings --- No Seminar ---
Tue 24 Jul
04:30PM
Sylvain Sardy University of Geneva Model selection with lasso-zero: Adding straw to the haystack to better find needles
Tue 17 Jul
04:30PM
Deanna Needell UCLA Simple classification from binary data
Thu 12 Jul
04:30PM
Day, Venue Change
Bibhas Chakraborty National University of Singapore Estimating optimal dynamic treatment regimes with shared parameters
Tue 03 Jul
04:30PM
Amir Dembo Stanford Mathematics and Statistics Large deviations theory for chemical reaction networks
June 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 26 Jun
04:30PM
Yue Wang University of Washington Seattle An impossibility theorem of quantifying causal effect
Tue 05 Jun
04:30PM
Emmanuel Candès Stanford Mathematics and Statistics What do we really know about logistic regression? A modern maximum-likelihood theory
May 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 29 May
04:30PM
Didier Nibbering Erasmus University Rotterdam Inference in high-dimensional linear regression models
Wed 23 May
04:30PM
Extra Seminar
Samuel Kou Harvard University Statistical analysis of single-molecule protein-targeting experiments via hierarchical hidden Markov models
Tue 22 May
04:30PM
Subhadeep Mukhopadhyay Temple University Bayesian modeling via goodness-of-fi t
Tue 15 May
04:30PM
Johan Ugander Stanford MS&E Ruffled feathers: Trait inference on social networks beyond homophily
Tue 08 May
04:30PM
Guido Imbens Stanford GSB Matrix completion methods for causal panel data models
Tue 01 May
04:30PM
Gregory Valiant Stanford CS Estimating unexplained variance and learnability in the sublinear data regime
April 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 24 Apr
04:30PM
Qingyuan Zhao University of Pennsylvania Statistical inference in Mendelian randomization: From genetic association to epidemiological causation
Tue 17 Apr
04:30PM
Ramses Mena National Autonomous University of Mexico On some Markovian processes derived from Bayesian ideas
Tue 10 Apr
04:20PM
Rob Tibshirani Stanford Statistics A pliable lasso
Thu 05 Apr
04:30PM
Extra Seminar
Scott Linderman Columbia University Bayesian methods for discovering structure in neural and behavioral data
Tue 03 Apr
04:00PM
BSJC
John Duchi Stanford Statistics Solving composite minimization problems arising in statistics and engineering, with applications to phase retrieval
March 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 13 Mar
04:30PM
Genevera Allen Rice University Inference, computation, and visualization for convex clustering and biclustering
Tue 06 Mar
04:30PM
Daniela Witten University of Washington Exact spike train inference via L0 optimization
February 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 27 Feb
04:30PM
Jelena Bradic UC San Diego Can we do inference without sparsity in the high-dimensional setting or breaking the curse of dimensionality?
Tue 20 Feb
04:30PM
Guillaume Basse Harvard University ---
Tue 13 Feb
04:30PM
Art Owen Stanford Statistics Importance sampling the union of rare events with an application to power systems analysis
Tue 06 Feb
04:30PM
Yuting Wei UC Berkeley Geometric analysis of hypothesis testing and early stopping for boosting
January 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 30 Jan
04:30PM
Shirshendu Ganguly UC Berkeley Understanding rare events in models of statistical mechanics
Thu 25 Jan
04:00PM
Extra Seminar
Roy Lederman Princeton University Inverse problems and unsupervised learning with applications to cryo-electron microscopy
Tue 23 Jan
04:30PM
Venue Change
Dominik Rothenhaeusler ETH Zurich Anchor regression: Heterogeneous data meets causality
Thu 18 Jan
04:30PM
Extra Seminar
Anderson Zhang Yale University Mean field variational inference: Computational and statistical guarantees
Tue 16 Jan
12:15PM
Joint with MS&E
Guillaume Basse Harvard University Testing for two-stage experiments in the presence of interference
Thu 11 Jan
04:30PM
Day Change
Aaditya Ramdas UC Berkeley Interactive algorithms for multiple hypothesis testing
December 2017
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 05 Dec
04:30PM
Weijie Su University of Pennsylvania HiGrad: Statistical inference for stochastic approximation and online learning
November 2017
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 28 Nov
02:30PM
LKSC Berg A
A Memorial Symposium hosted by Stanford Statistics Remembering Charles Stein: Scientist, Colleague, and Friend
Tue 21 Nov
04:30PM
Thanksgiving Week --- No Seminar ---
Tue 14 Nov
04:30PM
Julia Palacios Stanford Statistics Different coalescent modeling resolutions for posterior inference of evolutionary parameters
Tue 07 Nov
04:30PM
Hidetoshi Shimodaira Kyoto University / RIKEN AIP Selective inference for the problem of regions via multiscale bootstrap
Thu 02 Nov
04:30PM
Extra Seminar
Galen Reeves Duke University Additivity of information in multilayer networks via additive Gaussian noise transforms
October 2017
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 31 Oct
04:30PM
Zaid Harchaoui University of Washington Adaptive recovery of approximately shift-invariant signals by convex optimization
Tue 24 Oct
04:30PM
SBJC
Jasjeet Sekhon UC Berkeley Meta-learners for estimating heterogeneous treatment effects using machine learning
Tue 17 Oct
04:30PM
Alexander Volfovsky Duke University Design of experiments for networks with interference
Tue 10 Oct
04:30PM
Ryan Tibshirani Carnegie Mellon University Excess optimism: How biased is the apparent error of an estimator tuned by SURE?
Tue 03 Oct
04:30PM
Adrian Raftery University of Washington Probabilistic projection of carbon emissions
September 2017
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 26 Sep
04:30PM
Zheng (Tracy) Ke University of Chicago Spectral approach to topic learning
Fri 22 Sep
03:30PM
Extra Seminar
Hau-tieng Wu Duke University Modern data science solutions to some medical time series challenges
Subscribe to Statistics Department Seminar