Skip to content Skip to navigation

Statistics Department Seminar

The Statistics Seminars for Winter Quarter will be held in Room 380C of Sloan Mathematics Center in the Main Quad at 4:30pm on Tuesdays. Refreshments are served at 4pm in the Lounge on the first floor of Sequoia Hall.

You can receive a weekly announcement of seminar offerings by subscribing to our mailing list at any time! Please follow the link for Statistics Seminars and fill in the fields required to subscribe, unsubscribe, change subscription options, and so on.

We provide a LaTeX template for speakers to use when submitting the abstract for a seminar (sample PDF output). Using this template makes it possible to post the abstract promptly and without unintended errors that might creep in if your text has to be migrated from another source.

Seminars are always open to the public! Questions about the series may be sent to seminars@stat.stanford.edu.

March 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 10 Mar
04:30PM
Christian Borgs Microsoft/UC Berkeley ---
Tue 03 Mar
04:30PM
Xiaoquan Wen University of Michigan ---
February 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 25 Feb
04:30PM
Sourav Chatterjee Stanford Statistics ---
Tue 18 Feb
04:30PM
Jelena Bradic UC San Diego ---
Tue 11 Feb
04:30PM
Alon Kipnis Stanford Statistics ---
Tue 04 Feb
04:30PM
Paromita Dubey UC Davis ---
January 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 28 Jan
04:30PM
Didong Li Duke University Efficient manifold and density estimation with spherelets
Tue 21 Jan
04:30PM
Jerry Friedman Stanford Statistics Contrast trees and distribution boosting
Tue 14 Jan
04:30PM
Hengrui Luo The Ohio State University Lower dimensional topological information: Theory and applications
Tue 07 Jan
04:30PM
Vishesh Jain MIT From CSPs to the mean-field approximation, and back
November 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 19 Nov
04:30PM
Jonathan Taylor Stanford Statistics Inference after selection through a black box
Tue 12 Nov
04:30PM
Emmanuel Candes Stanford Math and Statistics Reliable predictions? Equitable treatment? Some recent progress in predictive inference
Tue 05 Nov
04:30PM
Audrey Fu University of Idaho Imputation and causal inference in genomics
October 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 29 Oct
04:30PM
SBJC
Peng Ding UC Berkeley Sensitivity analyses in observational studies for causal effects
Tue 22 Oct
04:30PM
Ankur Moitra MIT Robustness meets algorithms
Tue 15 Oct
04:30PM
Mark Huber Claremont McKenna College Robust estimators for Monte Carlo data
Tue 08 Oct
04:30PM
Andrea Montanari Stanford EE and Statistics Large neural networks: Insights from linearized models
Tue 01 Oct
04:30PM
David Donoho Stanford Statistics Optimal singular value thresholding in correlated noise
September 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 24 Sep
04:30PM
Takeru Matsuda University of Tokyo Singular value shrinkage prior: A matrix version of Stein's prior
Subscribe to Statistics Department Seminar