Skip to content Skip to navigation

Statistics Department Seminar

The Statistics Seminars for Winter Quarter will be held online via Zoom at 4:30pm on Tuesdays. Please note that these events will be locked by the Host after ten minutes, so latecomers will not be able to join the Meeting. Subscribe to our distribution list to receive Meeting IDs and passwords via email.

During this period of restrictions on social gatherings within our community, the Statistics Department remains committed to providing a forum for sharing our research and that of our colleagues as regularly as possible. We hope to see everyone together in a live presentation very soon!

You can receive a weekly announcement of seminar offerings by subscribing to our mailing list at any time! Add your information to join "Statistics Seminars" via Mailman and fill in the fields required to subscribe, unsubscribe, change subscription options, and so on.

We provide a LaTeX template for speakers to use when submitting the abstract for a seminar (sample PDF output). Using this template makes it possible to post the abstract promptly and without unintended errors that might creep in if your text has to be migrated from another source.

Zoom sessions are open to registered participants through our email distribution. Questions about this series may be sent to seminars@stat.stanford.edu.

March 2021
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 16 Mar
04:30PM
Subhabrata Sen Harvard University ---
Tue 09 Mar
04:30PM
Jonathan Niles-Weed Courant Institute, NYU ---
February 2021
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 23 Feb
04:30PM
Vidya Muthukumar Georgia Tech ---
Tue 16 Feb
04:30PM
Stephen Bates UC Berkeley ---
Tue 09 Feb
04:30PM
Yanjun Han Stanford Engineering ---
Tue 02 Feb
04:30PM
Daniel Erdmann-Pham UC Berkeley Interacting particle processes and gene expression: Hydrodynamics of the inhomogeneous l-TASEP
January 2021
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 26 Jan
04:30PM
Yinqiu He University of Michigan Hypothesis testing for large-scale data: Enhancing reliability and efficiency
Tue 19 Jan
04:30PM
Somabha Mukherjee University of Pennsylvania Statistical inference of dependent network data: The tensor Ising model
Tue 12 Jan
04:30PM
Gil Kur MIT On the minimax optimality of maximum likelihood in the non-Donsker regime
November 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 17 Nov
04:30PM
Edgar Dobriban University of Pennsylvania On the statistical foundations of adversarially robust learning
Tue 10 Nov
04:30PM
SBJC
Will Fithian UC Berkeley Conditional calibration for false discovery rate control under dependence
Tue 03 Nov
04:30PM
Mengdi Wang Princeton University Some theoretical results on model-based reinforcement learning
October 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 27 Oct
04:30PM
Nilam Ram Stanford Communication and Psychology Screenomics: A playground for the mining and modeling of both "big" and "small" longitudinal data
Tue 20 Oct
04:30PM
Mikhail Belkin Halıcıoğlu Data Science Institute Two mathematical lessons of deep learning
Tue 13 Oct
04:30PM
Art Owen Stanford Statistics Backfitting for large-scale crossed random effects regressions
Tue 06 Oct
04:30PM
Kengo Kato Cornell University Berry–Esseen bounds for Chernoff-type nonstandard asymptotics in isotonic regression
September 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Tue 29 Sep
04:30PM
Mohamed Ndaoud USC Scaled minimax optimality in high-dimensional linear regression: A non-convex algorithmic regularization approach
Tue 22 Sep
04:30PM
Samory Kpotufe Columbia University Some recent insights on transfer-learning
Tue 15 Sep
04:30PM
David Donoho Stanford Statistics Prevalence of neural collapse during terminal phase of deep learning training
Subscribe to Statistics Department Seminar