Skip to content Skip to navigation

Probability Seminar

The Probability Seminars are held in Room 200 of Sequoia Hall at 4pm on Mondays. Refreshments are served at 3:30pm in the Lounge on the first floor.

You can receive a weekly announcement of seminar offerings by subscribing to our mailing list at any time! Please follow the link for Probability Seminars and fill in the fields required to subscribe, unsubscribe, change subscription options, and so on.

We provide a LaTeX template for speakers to use when submitting the abstract for a seminar (sample PDF output). Using this template makes it possible to post the abstract promptly and without unintended errors that might creep in if your text has to be migrated from another source.

Questions about Seminars may be sent to seminars@stat.stanford.edu.

June 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 03 Jun
04:00PM
Darrell Duffie Stanford GSB Continuous-time random matching
May 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 27 May
04:00PM
University Holiday Memorial Day --- No Seminar ---
Mon 20 May
04:00PM
Amber Puha CSU San Marcos Asymptotic behavior of a critical fluid model for a multiclass processor sharing queue via relative entropy
Mon 13 May
04:00PM
Sourav Chatterjee Stanford Math and Statistics Wilson loops in Ising lattice gauge theory
Mon 06 May
04:00PM
Steve Evans UC Berkeley Lipschitz minorants of Lévy processes
April 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 29 Apr
04:00PM
Jim Pitman UC Berkeley Probability laws with a power biased inverse: Functional and distributional equations related to self-reciprocal Fourier transforms and the Riemann zeta function
Mon 22 Apr
04:00PM
Xin Sun Columbia University Dynamical percolation on random triangular lattices
Mon 15 Apr
04:00PM
Jan Vondrak Stanford Math A concentration inequality for generalization error of uniformly stable algorithms
Mon 08 Apr
04:00PM
Nicholas Cook Stanford Math Maximum of the characteristic polynomial for a random permutation matrix
Mon 01 Apr
04:00PM
Andrea Montanari Stanford EE and Statistics Optimization of the Sherrington–Kirkpatrick Hamiltonian
March 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Wed 13 Mar
04:30PM
Extra Seminar
Takashi Kumagai Kyoto University Quenched and averaged tails of the heat kernel of the two-dimensional uniform spanning tree
Mon 11 Mar
04:00PM
Oren Louidor Technion, Israel A scaling limit for the cover time of the binary tree
Mon 04 Mar
04:00PM
Peter Glynn Stanford MS&E Non-stationary Markov processes: Approximations and numerical methods
February 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 25 Feb
04:00PM
Allan Sly Princeton University The slow bond model with small perturbations
Mon 18 Feb
04:00PM
University Holiday Presidents Day --- No Seminar ---
Mon 11 Feb
04:00PM
Kavita Ramanan Brown University Local dynamics of interacting stochastic processes on sparse graphs
Mon 04 Feb
04:00PM
Lexing Ying Stanford Mathematics Convex relaxation approaches for strictly correlated density functional theory
January 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 28 Jan
04:00PM
Ahmed El Alaoui Stanford EE On the non-existence of the hard phase on amenable graphs
Mon 21 Jan
04:00PM
University Holiday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day --- No Seminar ---
Fri 18 Jan
02:00PM
Special Event
Hugo Duminil-Copin IHES, France Emergent planarity in two-dimensional Ising models with finite-range interactions
Mon 14 Jan
04:00PM
Evita Nestoridi Princeton University Mixing time of the upper triangular matrix walk over Z/mZ
Mon 07 Jan
04:00PM
Lenya Ryzhik Stanford Mathematics The stochastic heat equation and KPZ in dimensions three and higher
December 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 03 Dec
04:00PM
Persi Diaconis Stanford Mathematics and Statistics Some nonstandard central limit theorems with application to importance sampling
November 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 26 Nov
04:00PM
Jacob Fox Stanford Mathematics A solution to the Burr–Erdös problems on Ramsey complete sequences
Mon 19 Nov
04:00PM
Thanksgiving Week --- No Seminar ---
Mon 12 Nov
04:00PM
Pascal Maillard Université Paris-Sud The algorithmic hardness threshold for continuous random energy models
Mon 05 Nov
04:00PM
Nima Anari Stanford Computer Science Log-concave polynomials: Counting and sampling matroid bases and beyond
October 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 29 Oct
04:00PM
Yuri Kifer Hebrew University of Jerusalem Nonconventional random matrix products
Mon 22 Oct
04:00PM
Moses Charikar Stanford Computer Science Efficient profile maximum likelihood for universal symmetric property estimation
Mon 15 Oct
04:00PM
Amandine Veber École Polytechnique, France The effects of a weak selection pressure in a spatially structured population
Mon 08 Oct
04:00PM
Alex Dunlap Stanford Mathematics Constructing (2+1)-dimensional KPZ evolutions
Mon 01 Oct
04:00PM
Jason Fulman USC Central limit theorems for character values of symmetric groups
September 2018
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 24 Sep
04:00PM
Freddie Manners Stanford Mathematics Oddly specific conjectures for counting latin squares (and other things)