Skip to content Skip to navigation

Probability Seminar

The Probability Seminars for Spring Quarter will be held online via Zoom at 4pm on Mondays. Please note that these events will be locked by the Host after ten minutes, so latecomers will not be able to join the Meeting. Subscribe to our distribution list to receive Meeting IDs via email.

During this period of restrictions on social gatherings within our community, the Statistics and Mathematics Departments remain committed to providing a forum for sharing our research and that of our colleagues as regularly as possible. We hope to see everyone together in a live presentation very soon!

You can receive a weekly announcement of seminar offerings by subscribing to our mailing list at any time! Add your information to join "Probability Seminars" via Mailman and fill in the fields required to subscribe, unsubscribe, change subscription options, and so on.

We provide a LaTeX template for speakers to use when submitting the abstract for a seminar (sample PDF output). Using this template makes it possible to post the abstract promptly and without unintended errors that might creep in if your text has to be migrated from another source.

Zoom sessions are open to registered participants through our email distribution. Questions about this series may be sent to seminars@stat.stanford.edu.

June 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 15 Jun
04:00PM
Julia Palacios Stanford Statistics ---
Mon 08 Jun
04:00PM
Yuriy Nemish UC San Diego ---
Mon 01 Jun
04:00PM
Lucas Benigni University of Chicago Optimal delocalization for generalized Wigner matrices
May 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 25 May
04:00PM
University Holiday Memorial Day --- No Seminar ---
Mon 18 May
04:00PM
Asaf Ferber UC Irvine Induced subgraphs with prescribed degrees mod q
Mon 11 May
04:00PM
Jonathan Hermon University of British Columbia Random Cayley graphs
Mon 04 May
04:00PM
Erik Bates UC Berkeley Empirical distributions, geodesic lengths, and a variational formula in first-passage percolation
April 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 27 Apr
04:00PM
Persi Diaconis Stanford Mathematics and Statistics Speeding up Markov chains with deterministic jumps
Mon 20 Apr
04:00PM
Gene B. Kim Stanford Mathematics Distribution of descents (and other permutation statistics) in conjugacy classes of S_n
March 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 09 Mar
04:00PM
Rescheduled
Gene B. Kim Stanford Mathematics --- No Seminar ---
Mon 02 Mar
04:00PM
Shirshendu Ganguly UC Berkeley Fractal geometry in models of random growth
February 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 24 Feb
04:00PM
Lisa Sauermann Stanford Mathematics On the edge-statistics conjecture
Mon 17 Feb
04:00PM
University Holiday Presidents' Day --- No Seminar ---
Mon 10 Feb
04:30PM
Time Change
Alexander Volberg Michigan State University Improving constant in L1 Poincaré inequality on Hamming cube and related subjects
Mon 10 Feb
03:15PM
Extra Seminar
Omer Bobrowski Technion, Israel Topological phase transitions in random geometric complexes
Mon 03 Feb
04:00PM
Sumit Mukherjee Columbia University Fluctuations in mean field Ising models
January 2020
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 27 Jan
04:00PM
Laurent Miclo University of Toulouse, France Spectral characterization of the metastability phenomenon
Mon 20 Jan
04:00PM
University Holiday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day --- No Seminar ---
Mon 13 Jan
04:00PM
Amol Aggarwal Harvard University Universality for lozenge tiling local statistics
December 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Fri 06 Dec
04:00PM
Extra Seminar
Assaf Naor Princeton University Quantitative vector-valued laws of large numbers for Markov chains
Mon 02 Dec
04:00PM
Nicholas Cook Stanford Statistics The pseudospectrum of polynomials in random matrices
November 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 18 Nov
04:00PM
Philip Wood UC Berkeley Outliers in the spectrum for products of independent random matrices
Mon 11 Nov
04:30PM
Extra Seminar
Jason Miller University of Cambridge Existence and uniqueness of the Liouville quantum gravity metric for γ in (0,2)
Mon 11 Nov
03:15PM
Time Change
Yuri Kifer Hebrew University Geometric law for numbers of returns until a hazard
Mon 04 Nov
04:00PM
Matthew Kwan Stanford Math Combinatorial anti-concentration inequalities
October 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 28 Oct
04:00PM
Elizaveta Rebrova UCLA Sketching for iterative linear solvers: Strengths, weaknesses, and tools from random matrix theory
Mon 21 Oct
04:00PM
Amandine Véber École Polytechnique Resource sharing with logarithmic weights
Mon 14 Oct
04:00PM
Jun Yan Stanford Statistics Adapting to unknown noise distribution in matrix denoising
Mon 07 Oct
04:00PM
Georg Menz UCLA Ergodicity of the infinite swapping algorithm at low temperature
September 2019
Date/Time Speaker Affiliation Title
Mon 30 Sep
04:00PM
Reza Gheissari UC Berkeley Maximum height of low-temperature 3D Ising interfaces
Mon 23 Sep
04:00PM
Robin Pemantle University of Pennsylvania Recovering a message from a deletion/insertion channel