Main content start


Departmental Teaching Assistant Awards underscore Stanford's dedication to the highest quality in teaching, a leadership role held not only by members of faculty but also by many talented teaching assistants.
The Western North American Region (WNAR) of The International Biometric Society (IBS) announced Rob Tibshirani as the recipient of the 2024 WNAR Outstanding Impact Award and Lectureship.
With sincere appreciation for all those involved in the nomination and review process, the Department of Statistics proudly announces the winners of the full group of doctoral dissertation awards this year.
Stefan Wager, Julie Tibshirani, Susan Athey and Erik Sverdup of Stanford Data Science have been awarded the inaugural Stanford Open Source Software Prize for their Generalized Random Forest software.
Among the newly announced members of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, which annually honors exceptional leaders, artists, scientists and scholars, Professor Chatterjee has been invited to continue to innovate and help advance the common good
Professor Tibshirani has been chosen for this important recognition of meritorious achievement and scholarship, as well as highly significant impact of statistical methods on scientific investigations.
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) has announced their 2024 Class of Fellows, distinguished members nominated for their exemplary research as well as outstanding service to the community.
The big day is almost here! Statistics, Data Science, Mathematical and Computational Science and the very first graduating cohort from the Data Science major cordially invite family and friends to join us for a diploma ceremony in Sequoia Hall Grove immediately after the university
The department is pleased to announce this profound recognition of our colleague and offer heartfelt congratulations!
Our Adjunct Professor of Statistics, Lester has been named one of 20 recipients of this prestigious honor recognizing exceptional creativity and promise for important future advances based on a track record of significant accomplishments to date.
The department shares this announcement that the Stanford Science Fellows program is accepting applications for its 2024 cohort of postdoctoral fellows. We want to encourage our community members to learn more about this important initiative.
This year our Graduation Cake Celebration was the scene of the announcement of these wonderful awards! The Statistics Department Teaching Assistant Awards emphatically underscore Stanford's dedication to teaching excellence, not only by our faculty but also by
The McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience has selected ten neuroscientists to receive the 2023 McKnight Scholar Award, a prestigious early-career recognition of innovative investigators who represent the best young neuroscience faculty in the country.
The Statistics Department is excited to announce our annual doctoral dissertation awards. Each of these distinctions is accompanied by a prize of $1,000 and recipients will be presented with their certificates during our diploma ceremony on June 18th.
The Department of Statistics learned that Professor Lai passed away in the early morning of Sunday, May 21st. As many of us knew, he had suffered from health setbacks in recent years, but this sudden news came as a great shock. We all have fond memories of his enthusiasm for our field in general, and the department in particular.
In their official announcement today, the Royal Society named the exceptional scientists who will make up the newest cohort of Fellows of the UK’s national academy of sciences.
This year's election of new members to the AAAS honors excellence, innovation, and leadership and recognizes a broad array of stellar accomplishments among the individuals named. We are so proud to announce that Amir is among this group.
The C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize is awarded in odd-numbered years by the Department of Statistics at Penn State University. Previous recipients have included Grace Wahba, Herman Chernoff, and Brad Efron. It was established by C. R.
Dennis returns to Stanford in January to become Associate Professor (Teaching) of Statistics. Since receiving his Ph.D. in 2015 under the advising of Jonathan Taylor, he most recently has been Associate Professor of Statistics and Affiliate Professor of Computer Science at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, and a Senior Data Scientist at Google.
Two more Fellows will join the Statistics Department in September: Alden Green and Shuangping Li.
The Statistics Department is honored to announce a full lineup of doctoral dissertation awards this year. Each hard-won distinction is accompanied by a prize of $1,000 and recipients will be presented with their certificates during our diploma ceremony on June 12th.
The Departmental Teaching Assistant Awards underscore Stanford's dedication to teaching quality, not only by our faculty but also by our many talented teaching assistants.
Following the stadium ceremony for Stanford's 2022 Commencement, Statistics graduates and their families and friends are invited to the department's Diploma Ceremony in Serra Grove, on Jane Stanford Way in front of Sequoia Hall.
The NAS announced today the election of 120 members and 30 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist or engineer in the United States.
Professor Sabatti has been honored with election to the newest cohort for "excellent research in statistical genetics; leadership in defining a role for statistics in data science; and developing educational pathways supporting data-intensive science" as well as for "outreach efforts and commitment to increase research involvement of underrepres
The General Assembly of the Netherlands Society for Statistics and Operations Research recently, and unanimously, voted to award honorary membership to Jacqueline Meulman for her contributions to statistical science and to the society.
We are proud to announce that Dominik has been named the 2022 recipient of the David Cox Research Prize by the Royal Statistical Society. The Research Prize is awarded to a Fellow of the Society near the beginning of their research career for an outstanding published contribution to statistical theory or application.
The IEEE Board of Directors has this year selected Professor Donoho as our latest colleague to receive this award in recognition of outstanding achievements in signal processing.
The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, in its mission as a grantmaking institution dedicated to improving the welfare of all through the advancement of scientific knowledge, announced a new cohort of 118 early-career researchers who will receive 2022 Research Fellowships.
It was announced today that Professor Fox has been named to the second cohort of Chan Zuckerberg (CZ) Biohub Investigators, a unique community of dedicated scholars undertaking visionary research into some of the biggest challenges in biomedicine.